Prohibited Controlled Substances

Last updated: May 9, 2018

What Does Prohibited Controlled Substances Mean?

Prohibited controlled substances are those controlled substances listed in Schedules I through V of the Controlled Substances Act, 21 USC 821, or similar acts is various countries.


WorkplaceTesting Explains Prohibited Controlled Substances

Employees engaged in safety-sensitive functions are prohibited from being under the influence of alcohol, illicit drugs, or prescription drugs not prescribed to the employee or used outside of the prescription boundaries while working, therefore, these substances are referred to as prohibited controlled substances. All of the substances listed in Schedules I through V of part B of the Controlled Substances Act are categorized as controlled substances. Department of Transportation guidelines provide for testing of safety-sensitive employees for the presence of THC or marijuana, cocaine, amphetamines, phencyclidine and opiates including codeine. Testing is intended to detect these drugs and their metabolites, or the form the drug takes once metabolized by the body. The drugs and metabolites that are controlled substances and for which the Department of Transportation requires testing are considered prohibited controlled substances. Some of the drugs and compounds included in the DOT drug test are MDMA, heroin, morphine, amphetamine, THC, cocaine and PCP.


Share this Term

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter

Related Reading


Drug TestingUrine TestingLab TestMarijuanaOpiates

Trending Articles

Go back to top